If you mute someone’s stories, you won’t see their story at the top of your feed. Muting someone’s story is different from unfollowing them and from muting their profile. You’ll still see their posts in feed.
- Muting someone on Instagram is equivalent to taking a break from a conversation in real life. You politely pull yourself out of the conversation without any drama or ruffled feathers. When you mute someone you won’t be able to see the stories, pictures, and videos posted by them on your feed.
What happens when you mute someone on IG?
Muting someone on Instagram is like the social media equivalent of politely excusing yourself from a conversation, without making a scene. When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages.
Can someone see if you mute them on Instagram?
When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages. And don’t worry, Instagram doesn’t send any sort of notification when you mute someone.
Why would you mute someone on Instagram?
The word “mute” is used because it is simply a way to say to someone that you don’t want to hear what they are saying On Instagram, when someone mutes us, we can still see their stories, but we are unable to reply or comment. This makes it hard to know whether or not someone is ignoring us.
Whats the difference between mute and restrict on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
How can I hide my posts from someone on Instagram?
Tap Mute. You can either “mute posts,” “mute story” or “mute posts and story”. Muting a user will stop their posts or stories from showing up on your feed. The user won’t know that you’ve muted them, and you’ll still be able to view that user’s posts on their profile page.
Is there a way to block yourself from seeing someone’s Instagram story?
Instagram app for Android and iPhone At the top of feed, tap and hold the profile picture of the person whose story you’d like to mute. Select Mute, then tap Mute story.
How do I know if someone restricted me on Instagram?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
How do you know if someone has hide their Instagram story from you?
According to a spokesperson at Instagram there’s no official way to tell if someone hid their Stories from you, for privacy reasons. Plus, there’s always the possibility of a glitch, or that the story didn’t load for you.
How do you know if someone blocked you on Instagram?
To know if someone blocked you on Instagram, you should try searching for their account. If you can’t find their account or see the profile image, you may have been blocked. Instagram doesn’t send notifications for blocked accounts, so you won’t be alerted if someone blocks you.
Should I mute or unfollow?
People often initially follow others just to get them to follow back and then unfollow them – but that runs the risk of them finding out and unfollowing you. Muting is the safer option. In future we could see people who follow thousands of users, but only actually listen to a small minority of them.
Can someone know if you muted them?
Mute is a feature that allows you to remove an account’s Tweets from your timeline without unfollowing or blocking that account. Muted accounts will not know that you’ve muted them and you can unmute them at any time.
How can I hide my Instagram from someone without blocking them?
You can hide your Instagram account from someone without blocking them using the Archive option. The archived post will be hidden from the public but you still be able to access it and restore it after if you would change your mind. So, that’s the better alternative to deleting or blocking someone.
Can you soft block on Instagram?
On Instagram, the same procedure works, and there are other types of softblocks too. For instance, you can hide just your Story from certain people. They won’t even know what they’re missing. In most cases, softblock is just blocking and then quickly unblocking.
How do I block someone without blocking them?
Using a Silent Ringtone Download or create a silent ringtone, sync it to your iPhone and associate it with the contact entry for the person you want to block for a “blocking without blocking” effect. Whenever he calls you, the phone will ring – but you won’t hear it.